Montreat College
Inducted in 2003
President of Montreat College - President of Montreat College
As a Cavalier
William Whitfield Hurt served as president of Montreat College from 1991-2002. Mr. Hurt joined Montreat College after thirty-one years with Martin Marietta where he received the honor of Manager of the Year for 1990 and was awarded the Jeferson Cup, the highest honor accorded by the corporation.
A native of Tennessee, Mr. Hurt received his undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Tennessee and a master's degree in engineering mechanics from the University of Florida. He is also a distinguished graduate of the Defense Systems Management College, a postgraduate program operated by the Office of the Secretary of Defense. He is a member of Omicron Delta Kappa, Tau Beta Pi, Pi Tau Sigma, Sigma Pi Sigma and a registered professional engineer. Mr. Hurt served as an elder in the First Presbyterian Church, Orlando, Florida prior to moving to Montreat where he is a member of the Montreat Presbyterian Church. For four years he served on the Committee on Preparation for Ministry of the Presbytery of Western North Carolina.
Mr. Hurt served on the board of the North Carolina Independent Colleges and universities (NCICU) and as secretary of the education and Research Consortium of the Western Carolinas (ERC). He is immediate past-chairman of the board of directors of the Association of Presbyterian Colleges and Universities Risk Management, Inc. (APCURM - a not for profit college insurance cooperative). He also served on the boards of the National Association of Independent College s and Universities (NAICU), the Association of Presbyterian Colleges and Universities (APCU), and on the executive committee of the Appalachian College Association (ACA). Mr. Hurt is a member of the Order of St. John/American Priory. He and his wife have three grown children and several grandchildren.
Mr. Hurt oversaw the transition of the College athletic program from the junior college level to its current membership in the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics and the Appalachian Athletic Conference as a four-year institution. Under his leadership, the intercollegiate athletic program grew from five sports to twelve: six for women and six for men. New athletic fields were constructed and old facilities were rehabilitated. Many of the championships and National Tournament appearances were only possible through the untiring commitment and support of President Hurt.

After Graduation

 Cavalier Hall of Fame
To nominate someone for the Montreat College Athletic Hall of Fame, please complete and return the Hall of Fame nomination form.
InducteeYearGrad DateSport(s)
David Walters19991968Men's Soccer
Norm Wilhelmi19991951Men's Basketball
Bob Watt20001947Board of Trustees
Larry Wilson20001956Basketball, Baseball, Track, Cross Country, Tennis, Soccer, and Gymnastics
James Johnson, Jr.20021984Men's Basketball
Winston Walden Pulliam, Jr.20021978Men's Basketball
Aron Gabriel20031996Men's Basketball
William Hurt2003President of Montreat College
Shane Hatcher20041996Baseball
Toby Brooks20061991Softball & Volleyball
Shon Snipes20061994Women's Basketball
Jesse Gardner20072002Men's Basketball
Monica Wilder-Hickman20072002Softball & Volleyball
Crystal Bennett-Kilgore20092002Women's Soccer & Basketball
Jennifer Brooks20092003Women's Basketball
Eric Morris20092001Men's Golf
William (Bill) Robinson2009Men's Basketball
Text Updates
Live Media