Montreat College
 History of the AAC

The Appalachian Athletic Conference evolved from the Volunteer State Athletic Conference (VSAC), an NAIA conference organized in the 1940s and dissolved in the early 1980s when institutions in the eastern part of the state seceded to form the Tennessee Virginia Athletic Conference (TVAC). The Conference name changed to the Appalachian Athletic Conference (AAC) in 2001 with the addition of Bluefield College, Montreat College, Alice Lloyd College, and Union College. In 2014, the Conference will have 12 members in six Southeastern States: Bluefield (VA), Bryan (TN), Columbia (SC), Milligan (TN), Montreat (NC), Point (GA), Reinhardt (GA), SCAD Atlanta (GA), St. Andrews (NC), Tennessee Wesleyan, Truett-McConnell (GA), and Union (KY).


The AAC sponsors championships in fifteen sports: cross country, soccer, basketball, outdoor track & field, golf, baseball, and tennis for men; cross country, soccer, volleyball, basketball, outdoor track & field, golf, softball, and tennis for women.


Guiding Principles



That we would be a top-tier affiliated collegiate athletic Conference that fully supports the overall educational programs of its members by providing high quality athletic competition which enhances the academic and character development of its students.



The mission of the Conference is to promote the education and development of students and to provide athletic competition among its member institutions for the purpose of designating champions in sponsored sports, to increase visibility of its members to their publics, and to promote the highest ethical standards of character, conduct, sportsmanship, and fair play



We recognize the value of athletic competition on our campuses for the purposes of developing character and school spirit and aim to live out the NAIA five core values on the field of play, on our campuses, and in our communities:

  • Respect
  • Responsibility
  • Integrity
  • Servant leadership
  • Sportsmanship
Text Updates
Live Media